Skip to main content

Maelyn by Anita Valle (14)

  • Kindle: 3951.0 KB
  • Print: 174 pages
  • ASIN: B008GGB8OW

AMAZON US   |   AMAZON CA   |   AMAZON UK

Maelyn was not born a princess. The king found her as a child, the lone survivor of a poor village slaughtered by Red Fever. Suddenly she became a princess of Runa Realm, the first of nine orphans adopted by the king.
By her eighteenth year, Maelyn rules over Runa and a family of nine sisters. But some call the princesses frauds and imposters, a handful of urchins raised into royalty. Even Uncle Jarrod, the High King of Grunwold, seems determined to prove that Maelyn no longer deserves to be a princess. With a family losing faith in her, and a kingdom growing dangerously hostile, even Maelyn begins to wonder if she is truly a real princess. And if her riches will turn to rags once again....
The Nine Princesses novels chronicle the adventures of an unconventional family of princesses, the struggles they face in a kingdom often hostile to their humble origins, and the day-to-day dramas of nine young women whose personalities often clash like swords. Fans of Gail Carson Levine and Shannon Hale would enjoy these princess novels.

Anita Valle spent ten years developing The Nine Princesses while searching for a book format that would work for so many characters. The stories began as children’s picture books, evolved into chapter books, became lumped together in one huge novel, and were finally broken down into a series of novellas. Anita lives in upstate New York with her husband and three boys who don’t like princesses. She enjoys reading literary novels, creating graphic designs for her online shops, and painting piggy banks. You can reach Anita by e-mail at anitavalleart@yahoo.com or visit her website at www.anitavalleart.com.


REVIEW:
Such a cute fairy tale.
These nine princesses are highly unusual. I won't tell you why, but I will tell you that they are smart. This novella centers on the eldest princess, Maelyn. She is a great ruler, smart, beautiful and fair. She is not one to hurt her family or loved ones, and basically saves them from an evil source. It was a quick and delightful read!


4/5


**Compensation may be earned from the links within.  This copy was obtained free on Amazon. Opinions are owned by Freda's Voice.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Invisible Man

AVAILABLE TODAY! RATED R 125 MINUTES AMAZON What you can't see can hurt you. Trapped in a violent, controlling relationship with a wealthy scientist, Cecilia (Elisabeth Moss) escapes in the dead of night and disappears into hiding. But when her abusive ex suddenly dies, Cecilia suspects his death was a hoax. As a series of eerie coincidences turns lethal, threatening the lives of those she loves, Cecilia's sanity begins to unravel while she desperately tries to prove she is being hunted by someone nobody can see.  REVIEW: I sorta hated the beginning. Starts outs so dark that you can't really make anything out. Hard to know what's going on if you can't see. It doesn't take long to get light though. Thankfully. Man, does the story ever pick up after that. I don't remember much about the original but this one is intense. Right to the very last second too. Sydney is badass and shows it throughout. Can you imagine what it would

Scooby Doo: The Sword And The Scoob

AVAILABLE ON DIGITAL NOW AND DVD MARCH 23! RATED F 72 minutes AMAZON An evil sorceress transports the gang back to the age chivalrous knights, spell-casting wizards, and fire-breathing dragons. While there, Shaggy unwittingly pulls out Excalibur from a nearby stone to cut a block of cheese and now no one is sure who the rightful ruler is. The legendary wizard, Merlin, appears and explains that the throne of Camelot must be determined through TRIAL BY COMBAT. Our heroes pull out all the stops to try and win the tournament, break the witch's hold on King Arthur, and find a way back to the present in this legendary story of Scooby Doo in King Arthur's Court. REVIEW: It was weird starting off with a He-Man lookalike, Thunder the Barabarian), until I realized a character from the film was watching the cartoon in the airplane. Still, it was kind of cool to reminice about two cartoons from my childhood. So many great actors bring the film to life! What a fun story it was too! Although

Blast: Christmas In The Rockies by McKenna Grey (#Win Too!)

Welcome McKenna Grey to Freda's Voice today, and her new book, Christmas In The Rockies! McKenna Grey is the contemporary alter-ego of an award-winning, historical romance author. She writes romantic suspense, including the Kyndall Family series, and heartwarming, small-town romance to break up the murder and mayhem. She lives and plays in the northern Rocky Mountains where she manages to stay out of the trouble her characters can't seem to avoid.  Website    |    Facebook   |    Instagram Publisher : Cambron Press Pages : 40k; collection of three novelettes Genre : Contemporary Romance / Holidays (Sweet and Clean) "McKensie’s Christmas Gift"  When McKensie Scott returns to Wycliffe, Wyoming, she’s uncertain of her future . . . and the man she left behind two summers before. With the help of an unexpected ally, McKensie will discover that sometimes leaving the people you love is the only way to find your path home. "A Snowy Falls Christmas" After five y