Skip to main content

Maelyn by Anita Valle (14)

  • Kindle: 3951.0 KB
  • Print: 174 pages
  • ASIN: B008GGB8OW

AMAZON US   |   AMAZON CA   |   AMAZON UK

Maelyn was not born a princess. The king found her as a child, the lone survivor of a poor village slaughtered by Red Fever. Suddenly she became a princess of Runa Realm, the first of nine orphans adopted by the king.
By her eighteenth year, Maelyn rules over Runa and a family of nine sisters. But some call the princesses frauds and imposters, a handful of urchins raised into royalty. Even Uncle Jarrod, the High King of Grunwold, seems determined to prove that Maelyn no longer deserves to be a princess. With a family losing faith in her, and a kingdom growing dangerously hostile, even Maelyn begins to wonder if she is truly a real princess. And if her riches will turn to rags once again....
The Nine Princesses novels chronicle the adventures of an unconventional family of princesses, the struggles they face in a kingdom often hostile to their humble origins, and the day-to-day dramas of nine young women whose personalities often clash like swords. Fans of Gail Carson Levine and Shannon Hale would enjoy these princess novels.

Anita Valle spent ten years developing The Nine Princesses while searching for a book format that would work for so many characters. The stories began as children’s picture books, evolved into chapter books, became lumped together in one huge novel, and were finally broken down into a series of novellas. Anita lives in upstate New York with her husband and three boys who don’t like princesses. She enjoys reading literary novels, creating graphic designs for her online shops, and painting piggy banks. You can reach Anita by e-mail at anitavalleart@yahoo.com or visit her website at www.anitavalleart.com.


REVIEW:
Such a cute fairy tale.
These nine princesses are highly unusual. I won't tell you why, but I will tell you that they are smart. This novella centers on the eldest princess, Maelyn. She is a great ruler, smart, beautiful and fair. She is not one to hurt her family or loved ones, and basically saves them from an evil source. It was a quick and delightful read!


4/5


**Compensation may be earned from the links within.  This copy was obtained free on Amazon. Opinions are owned by Freda's Voice.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Invisible Man

AVAILABLE TODAY! RATED R 125 MINUTES AMAZON What you can't see can hurt you. Trapped in a violent, controlling relationship with a wealthy scientist, Cecilia (Elisabeth Moss) escapes in the dead of night and disappears into hiding. But when her abusive ex suddenly dies, Cecilia suspects his death was a hoax. As a series of eerie coincidences turns lethal, threatening the lives of those she loves, Cecilia's sanity begins to unravel while she desperately tries to prove she is being hunted by someone nobody can see.  REVIEW: I sorta hated the beginning. Starts outs so dark that you can't really make anything out. Hard to know what's going on if you can't see. It doesn't take long to get light though. Thankfully. Man, does the story ever pick up after that. I don't remember much about the original but this one is intense. Right to the very last second too. Sydney is badass and shows it throughout. Can you imagine what it would

#Win Game of Thrones Season 8 (US/CDN)

AVAILABLE NOW! RATED PG 425 minutes AMAZON In the mythical continent of Westeros, several powerful families fight for control of the Seven Kingdoms. As conflict erupts in the kingdoms of men, an ancient enemy rises once again to threaten them all. Meanwhile, the last heirs of a recently usurped dynasty plot to take back their homeland from across the Narrow Sea. This is the eighth and final season. REVIEW: I loved the whole series, but especially loved this season as it wrapped it all up.  There were a couple of moments that were so incredibly tragic, but also a couple moments where the most tragic things couldn't have happened to better people. Take Sussy for example. God, how I hated that woman through the whole show and couldn't wait for her to get what was coming to her. Did she get it here? You have to watch and see! This is the season where you will sit on the edge of your seat, waiting to see who will win the kingdom. Does your favor

#Win The Secret Life Of Pets 2 (US/CDN)

AVAILABLE AUGUST 27! Rated PG 173 minutes AMAZON The Secret Life of Pets 2 explores the emotional lives of our pets, the deep bond between them, the families that love them and answers the question: What are your pets really doing when you’re not at home? Terrier Max (Patton Oswalt) is coping with major life changes after Katie’s marriage and the arrival of a toddler. Meanwhile, Gidget (Jenny Slate) tries to rescue Max’s favourite toy from a cat-packed apartment with a little help from her feline friend, Chloe (Lake Bell), who has discovered the joys of catnip. And Snowball (Kevin Hart) gets delusions of grandeur that he’s a superhero after his owner starts dressing him in superhero pajamas. But when Daisy (Tiffany Haddish), a fearless Shih Tzu, shows up to ask for Snowball’s help on a dangerous mission, he’ll have to summon the courage to become the hero he’s been pretending to be.Can Max, Snowball, Gidget and the rest of the gang find the inner courage to fa