Skip to main content

Maelyn by Anita Valle (14)

  • Kindle: 3951.0 KB
  • Print: 174 pages
  • ASIN: B008GGB8OW

AMAZON US   |   AMAZON CA   |   AMAZON UK

Maelyn was not born a princess. The king found her as a child, the lone survivor of a poor village slaughtered by Red Fever. Suddenly she became a princess of Runa Realm, the first of nine orphans adopted by the king.
By her eighteenth year, Maelyn rules over Runa and a family of nine sisters. But some call the princesses frauds and imposters, a handful of urchins raised into royalty. Even Uncle Jarrod, the High King of Grunwold, seems determined to prove that Maelyn no longer deserves to be a princess. With a family losing faith in her, and a kingdom growing dangerously hostile, even Maelyn begins to wonder if she is truly a real princess. And if her riches will turn to rags once again....
The Nine Princesses novels chronicle the adventures of an unconventional family of princesses, the struggles they face in a kingdom often hostile to their humble origins, and the day-to-day dramas of nine young women whose personalities often clash like swords. Fans of Gail Carson Levine and Shannon Hale would enjoy these princess novels.

Anita Valle spent ten years developing The Nine Princesses while searching for a book format that would work for so many characters. The stories began as children’s picture books, evolved into chapter books, became lumped together in one huge novel, and were finally broken down into a series of novellas. Anita lives in upstate New York with her husband and three boys who don’t like princesses. She enjoys reading literary novels, creating graphic designs for her online shops, and painting piggy banks. You can reach Anita by e-mail at anitavalleart@yahoo.com or visit her website at www.anitavalleart.com.


REVIEW:
Such a cute fairy tale.
These nine princesses are highly unusual. I won't tell you why, but I will tell you that they are smart. This novella centers on the eldest princess, Maelyn. She is a great ruler, smart, beautiful and fair. She is not one to hurt her family or loved ones, and basically saves them from an evil source. It was a quick and delightful read!


4/5


**Compensation may be earned from the links within.  This copy was obtained free on Amazon. Opinions are owned by Freda's Voice.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Scooby Doo: The Sword And The Scoob

AVAILABLE ON DIGITAL NOW AND DVD MARCH 23! RATED F 72 minutes AMAZON An evil sorceress transports the gang back to the age chivalrous knights, spell-casting wizards, and fire-breathing dragons. While there, Shaggy unwittingly pulls out Excalibur from a nearby stone to cut a block of cheese and now no one is sure who the rightful ruler is. The legendary wizard, Merlin, appears and explains that the throne of Camelot must be determined through TRIAL BY COMBAT. Our heroes pull out all the stops to try and win the tournament, break the witch's hold on King Arthur, and find a way back to the present in this legendary story of Scooby Doo in King Arthur's Court. REVIEW: It was weird starting off with a He-Man lookalike, Thunder the Barabarian), until I realized a character from the film was watching the cartoon in the airplane. Still, it was kind of cool to reminice about two cartoons from my childhood. So many great actors bring the film to life! What a fun story it was too! Although

Cover Reveal: Red by Cambria Hebert

Cambria Hebert is an award winning, bestselling novelist of more than twenty books. She went to college for a bachelor’s degree, couldn’t pick a major, and ended up with a degree in cosmetology. So rest assured her characters will always have good hair.  Besides writing, Cambria loves a caramel latte, staying up late, sleeping in, and watching movies. She considers math human torture and has an irrational fear of chickens (yes, chickens). You can often find her running on the treadmill (she’d rather be eating a donut), painting her toenails (because she bites her fingernails), or walking her chorkie (the real boss of the house).  Cambria has written within the young adult and new adult genres, penning many paranormal and contemporary titles. Her favorite genre to read and write is romantic suspense. A few of her most recognized titles are: The Hashtag Series, Text, Torch, and Tattoo. Cambria Hebert owns and operates Cambria Hebert Books, LLC. You can find out more about Cambria and her

#19: Cinder - Marissa Meyer

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl. . . .  Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future. KINDLE:  448 KB Print Length:  400 pages Publisher:  Feiwel & Friends (January 3, 2012) ASIN:  B005KJJ4F8 AMAZON US   |   AMAZON CA AUTHOR BIO: Marissa Meyer was born and raised in Tacoma, Washington, home of Almond Roca and Stadium High School, which was made famous when Heath