Skip to main content

The Happiness Project by Gretchin Rubin (59)

“This book made me happy in the first five pages.” —AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible
Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is “a cross between the Dalai Lama’s The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.” (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person’s year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.

  • Hardcover: 301 pages
  • Publisher: Harper; 1 edition (December 29, 2009)
  • ISBN: 9780061583254

AMAZON US   |   AMAZON CA   |   AMAZON UK




The author of "Happier at Home" and "The Happiness Project," Both books became New York Times bestsellers. The newest book "Better Than Before", released March 17, 2015.

On her blog, www.gretchenrubin.com, she writes about her daily adventures in happiness.

She currently lives in New York City with her husband and two daughters.






REVIEW:
Well then...
I wanted more from this book. I don't know, maybe I thought it was more self-help than memoir. I still enjoyed it though, just differently than I thought I would.
I read through Gretchin's personal journey to happiness. She researched and put things to use that she learned, all in the name of finding inner happiness. It was captivating to hear her results and findings, and I felt that I learned a lot myself.
The best for me was dealing with her children. Although mine are 19 and 21, I still feel the practices she used, specifically when talking to them, could be useful to me as well. It's like taking positive reinforcement to a whole new level, and I like it.
A great read. If you want a glimpse into happiness though, you have to take note and look inside yourself. That's where happiness lies. You just have to find it, like Gretchin did.

3.5/5


**No compensation was received for posting. Compensation will be earned if purchases are made from the links within. This copy was provided to facilitate a review. Opinions are owned by Freda's Voice.

Comments

  1. I read this and liked it. I agree with you, happiness is inside you!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This book sits on the coffee table at my daughter's therapist office so I have been reading it a little at a time. I read one of her other books and I really liked it. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've heard a lot about this, but haven't read it yet.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Comments are for Google Users Only due to spam comments. Thank you for taking the time to leave your opinions and comments.

Popular posts from this blog

Dr. Suess' The Grinch (With #Giveaway)

AVAILABLE FEBRUARY 5TH!
RATED PG
86 minutes
AMAZON US

Illumination and Universal Pictures present The Grinch, based on Dr. Seuss' beloved classic. The Grinch tells the story of a cynical grump who goes on a mission to steal Christmas, only to have his heart changed by a young girl’s generous spirit. Funny, heartwarming and visually stunning, The Grinch is fun for the whole family!



REVIEW:
Such great animation!
There was always something going on in this movie. Even though it was a story I have seen played out a million times and a million different ways, they all are different too. This had more of a story. It was very magical and is definitely fun for the whole family.
Want to point out, Max, the dog, stole the show for me. He is so adorable, even if animation. Such a good dog.
This is one of those Christmas movies that you really can enjoy all year round. It has enough laughs, fun and morals to be played anytime. Plus there is nothing wrong with Christmas cheer in February.


4.5/5



WANNA WIN…

#ChristmasInJuly #Win A Onesie Or Pajamas Of Your Choice! (US/CDN)

The most wonderful time of the year is back, (a little early)! It's Christmas in July!! You too can celebrate with a wonderful gift right here. UglyChristmasSweater.com has the funniest, traditional and branded goodies on the planet! Here is a sneak peek at a couple of things I personally love on their site.

Last year, I reviewed one of the sweaters. You can view that post here. It is easily my favorite holiday sweater. It's so warm and I love the quality of it. This year, I was asked if I wanted a onesie or pajamas to check out. You know I had to jump at the chance, knowing what great quality clothing they have.

I got the Grinch on my onesie! I got an extra large size, and before you go crazy knowing that is big for me, I don't like my pjs to be tight and constricting. I always go a size up on my night clothes. I must have been traumatized in a past life.... These Grinch pajamas are soooooo soft and comfortable. The best part is that it's A/C season so I can actually wher…

Halloween 2018 (#Giveaway Too)

AVAILABLE NOW!
RATED R
105 minutes
AMAZON US
In October 2018, forty years after the massacre in Haddonfield, true-crime pod-casters Aaron Korey and Dana Haines travel to Warren County Smith's Grove Sanitarium to visit Michael Myers. They briefly interview Michael's psychiatrist Dr. Ranbir Sartain, a former student of Dr. Samuel Loomis, before meeting with Michael in hopes of gaining some insight into his past actions before his transfer to a new facility. Aaron brandishes Michael's mask at him, to no effect. In Haddonfield, Illinois, Laurie Strode is living an isolated life, having been divorced twice, developed a strained relationship with her family and turned to alcohol. Laurie has prepared for Michael's potential return through combat training. The following night, Michael's transport crashes. Michael kills a father and his son who stumble upon the crashed bus on the road, and steals their car. The following day, on Halloween, Michael resumes his killing spree, k…