Skip to main content

The Happiness Project by Gretchin Rubin (59)

“This book made me happy in the first five pages.” —AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible
Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is “a cross between the Dalai Lama’s The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.” (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person’s year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.

  • Hardcover: 301 pages
  • Publisher: Harper; 1 edition (December 29, 2009)
  • ISBN: 9780061583254

AMAZON US   |   AMAZON CA   |   AMAZON UK




The author of "Happier at Home" and "The Happiness Project," Both books became New York Times bestsellers. The newest book "Better Than Before", released March 17, 2015.

On her blog, www.gretchenrubin.com, she writes about her daily adventures in happiness.

She currently lives in New York City with her husband and two daughters.






REVIEW:
Well then...
I wanted more from this book. I don't know, maybe I thought it was more self-help than memoir. I still enjoyed it though, just differently than I thought I would.
I read through Gretchin's personal journey to happiness. She researched and put things to use that she learned, all in the name of finding inner happiness. It was captivating to hear her results and findings, and I felt that I learned a lot myself.
The best for me was dealing with her children. Although mine are 19 and 21, I still feel the practices she used, specifically when talking to them, could be useful to me as well. It's like taking positive reinforcement to a whole new level, and I like it.
A great read. If you want a glimpse into happiness though, you have to take note and look inside yourself. That's where happiness lies. You just have to find it, like Gretchin did.

3.5/5


**No compensation was received for posting. Compensation will be earned if purchases are made from the links within. This copy was provided to facilitate a review. Opinions are owned by Freda's Voice.

Comments

  1. I read this and liked it. I agree with you, happiness is inside you!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This book sits on the coffee table at my daughter's therapist office so I have been reading it a little at a time. I read one of her other books and I really liked it. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've heard a lot about this, but haven't read it yet.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Comments are for Google Users Only due to spam comments. Thank you for taking the time to leave your opinions and comments.

Popular posts from this blog

Scooby Doo: The Sword And The Scoob

AVAILABLE ON DIGITAL NOW AND DVD MARCH 23! RATED F 72 minutes AMAZON An evil sorceress transports the gang back to the age chivalrous knights, spell-casting wizards, and fire-breathing dragons. While there, Shaggy unwittingly pulls out Excalibur from a nearby stone to cut a block of cheese and now no one is sure who the rightful ruler is. The legendary wizard, Merlin, appears and explains that the throne of Camelot must be determined through TRIAL BY COMBAT. Our heroes pull out all the stops to try and win the tournament, break the witch's hold on King Arthur, and find a way back to the present in this legendary story of Scooby Doo in King Arthur's Court. REVIEW: It was weird starting off with a He-Man lookalike, Thunder the Barabarian), until I realized a character from the film was watching the cartoon in the airplane. Still, it was kind of cool to reminice about two cartoons from my childhood. So many great actors bring the film to life! What a fun story it was too! Although

Loveswept - Holiday Hop!

Happy Holidays to everyone - Romance At Random is celebrating their Loveswept line with a random e-book Giveaway to 25 winners plus an opportunity to win one Grand Prize from www.romanceatrandom.com . Enter here to be included in the FREE random e-book drawing (25 winners will pick up their FREE book from Net Galley) and then stop on by www.romanceatrandom.com and comment to enter the drawing to be the ''ONE” Grand Prize winner, to win a selection of great books! Good Luck & Happy Holidays to all! INCREASE your chances to win by visiting all of the participating 'Loveswept - Holiday Hop' sites! Winners will be contacted after 1/10/12. <p><p>Loading...</p></p> Powered by Linky Tools Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list... You can use our site link for readers to see the participating sites and also enter for th

#Win I Take My Coffee Black - Tyler Merritt (US)

Tyler Merritt  is an actor, musician, comedian, and activist behind The Tyler Merritt Project. Raised in Las Vegas he has always had a passion for bringing laughter, grace, and love into any community that he is able to be a part of. For over twenty years now he has spoken to audiences ranging from elementary school students to nursing home seniors. His television credits include ABC's  Kevin Probably Saves The World , Netflix's  Messiah , Netflix's  Outer Banks , Disney/Marvel's  Falcon and the Winter Soldier  and Apple TV's upcoming series  Swagger . Tyler's viral videos "Before You Call the Cops" and "Walking While Black" have been viewed by over 60 million people worldwide with “Before You Call The Cops” being voted the number one most powerful video of 2020 by NowThis Politics. He is a Cancer survivor who lives in Nashville, Tennessee. Connect with Tyler on Facebook , Twitter , Instagram and Youtube . HARDCOVER / ISBN-13:  9781546029410