Skip to main content

The Happiness Project by Gretchin Rubin (59)

“This book made me happy in the first five pages.” —AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible
Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is “a cross between the Dalai Lama’s The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.” (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person’s year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.

  • Hardcover: 301 pages
  • Publisher: Harper; 1 edition (December 29, 2009)
  • ISBN: 9780061583254

AMAZON US   |   AMAZON CA   |   AMAZON UK




The author of "Happier at Home" and "The Happiness Project," Both books became New York Times bestsellers. The newest book "Better Than Before", released March 17, 2015.

On her blog, www.gretchenrubin.com, she writes about her daily adventures in happiness.

She currently lives in New York City with her husband and two daughters.






REVIEW:
Well then...
I wanted more from this book. I don't know, maybe I thought it was more self-help than memoir. I still enjoyed it though, just differently than I thought I would.
I read through Gretchin's personal journey to happiness. She researched and put things to use that she learned, all in the name of finding inner happiness. It was captivating to hear her results and findings, and I felt that I learned a lot myself.
The best for me was dealing with her children. Although mine are 19 and 21, I still feel the practices she used, specifically when talking to them, could be useful to me as well. It's like taking positive reinforcement to a whole new level, and I like it.
A great read. If you want a glimpse into happiness though, you have to take note and look inside yourself. That's where happiness lies. You just have to find it, like Gretchin did.

3.5/5


**No compensation was received for posting. Compensation will be earned if purchases are made from the links within. This copy was provided to facilitate a review. Opinions are owned by Freda's Voice.

Comments

  1. I read this and liked it. I agree with you, happiness is inside you!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This book sits on the coffee table at my daughter's therapist office so I have been reading it a little at a time. I read one of her other books and I really liked it. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've heard a lot about this, but haven't read it yet.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Comments are moderated due to spammers.
All opinions welcome. Be yourself, and have a blessed day!

Popular posts from this blog

The Friday 56 (With Instagram 56 & Book Beginnings)

Welcome to Week 341!
Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
(If you have to improvise, that's ok.)
 *Find any sentence, (or few, just don't spoil it)
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. 
*It's that simple.

Or join The Friday 56 on Instagram!

Rules: * Grab a book and find a creative way to showcase your 56. It can be a photo of the book and the 56 in comments, or whatever you come up with. Make sure to use the hashtag #Friday56 *Add your Instagram url to the Linky.
I only have until September 19th to get this book done. It's good though and I should be done in no time.

I'm also posting early for two reasons, 1; work, and 2; a review posting tomorrow. Watch for that!
56% on reader


#Recipe Minestrone Soup

**Recipe and photo owned by Freda's Voice.


Minestrone soup is one of my favorite soups that my mother-in-law makes, and since moving out of her home and into our own again, I need to figure out what went inside hers so I can make it myself. I'm happy to say I did get it, and the hubster says it is just like hers! That's a compliment!! So here is my rendition of my mother-in-law's soup.



INGREDIENTS
1 cup Ditali pasta shells 1/2 large onion, diced 2 tbsp olive oil 1 large garlic clove, minced 2 on-the-vine tomatoes, diced 1 zucchini, diced 3 organic carrots from bunch, diced 2 celery stalks, diced 1/4 head of cabbage, sliced and diced 1 can Cannellini beans, rinsed (white kidney beans) 2 cartons of vegetable stock 1 sprig of thyme 3/4 tbsp salt 1 tsp pepper 2 bay leaves
METHOD
Heat the oil in a pot on medium-low heat.  Add the onion and garlic, saute until golden. Add tomatoes, stir. Cook 2 minutes. Add zucchini, stir. Cook 1 minute. Add carrots, stir. Cook 1 minute. Add celery, stir. Cook 2 mi…

The Friday 56 (With Instagram 56 & Book Beginnings)

Welcome to Week 343!
Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
(If you have to improvise, that's ok.)
 *Find any sentence, (or few, just don't spoil it)
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. 
*It's that simple.

Or join The Friday 56 on Instagram!

Rules: * Grab a book and find a creative way to showcase your 56. It can be a photo of the book and the 56 in comments, or whatever you come up with. Make sure to use the hashtag #Friday56 *Add your Instagram url to the Linky.
So excited to be reading this one!!
Page 56