Skip to main content

The Happiness Project by Gretchin Rubin (59)

“This book made me happy in the first five pages.” —AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible
Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is “a cross between the Dalai Lama’s The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.” (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person’s year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.

  • Hardcover: 301 pages
  • Publisher: Harper; 1 edition (December 29, 2009)
  • ISBN: 9780061583254

AMAZON US   |   AMAZON CA   |   AMAZON UK




The author of "Happier at Home" and "The Happiness Project," Both books became New York Times bestsellers. The newest book "Better Than Before", released March 17, 2015.

On her blog, www.gretchenrubin.com, she writes about her daily adventures in happiness.

She currently lives in New York City with her husband and two daughters.






REVIEW:
Well then...
I wanted more from this book. I don't know, maybe I thought it was more self-help than memoir. I still enjoyed it though, just differently than I thought I would.
I read through Gretchin's personal journey to happiness. She researched and put things to use that she learned, all in the name of finding inner happiness. It was captivating to hear her results and findings, and I felt that I learned a lot myself.
The best for me was dealing with her children. Although mine are 19 and 21, I still feel the practices she used, specifically when talking to them, could be useful to me as well. It's like taking positive reinforcement to a whole new level, and I like it.
A great read. If you want a glimpse into happiness though, you have to take note and look inside yourself. That's where happiness lies. You just have to find it, like Gretchin did.

3.5/5


**No compensation was received for posting. Compensation will be earned if purchases are made from the links within. This copy was provided to facilitate a review. Opinions are owned by Freda's Voice.

Comments

  1. I read this and liked it. I agree with you, happiness is inside you!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This book sits on the coffee table at my daughter's therapist office so I have been reading it a little at a time. I read one of her other books and I really liked it. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've heard a lot about this, but haven't read it yet.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Comments are for Google Users Only due to spam comments. Thank you for taking the time to leave your opinions and comments.

Popular posts from this blog

The Invisible Man

AVAILABLE TODAY!
RATED R
125 MINUTES

AMAZON
What you can't see can hurt you. Trapped in a violent, controlling relationship with a wealthy scientist, Cecilia (Elisabeth Moss) escapes in the dead of night and disappears into hiding. But when her abusive ex suddenly dies, Cecilia suspects his death was a hoax. As a series of eerie coincidences turns lethal, threatening the lives of those she loves, Cecilia's sanity begins to unravel while she desperately tries to prove she is being hunted by someone nobody can see. 


REVIEW:
I sorta hated the beginning.
Starts outs so dark that you can't really make anything out. Hard to know what's going on if you can't see.
It doesn't take long to get light though.
Thankfully.
Man, does the story ever pick up after that. I don't remember much about the original but this one is intense. Right to the very last second too.
Sydney is badass and shows it throughout. Can you imagine what it would be like if everyone thought you were o…

#Win Game of Thrones Season 8 (US/CDN)

AVAILABLE NOW!
RATED PG
425 minutes
AMAZON
In the mythical continent of Westeros, several powerful families fight for control of the Seven Kingdoms. As conflict erupts in the kingdoms of men, an ancient enemy rises once again to threaten them all. Meanwhile, the last heirs of a recently usurped dynasty plot to take back their homeland from across the Narrow Sea.
This is the eighth and final season.



REVIEW: I loved the whole series, but especially loved this season as it wrapped it all up.  There were a couple of moments that were so incredibly tragic, but also a couple moments where the most tragic things couldn't have happened to better people. Take Sussy for example. God, how I hated that woman through the whole show and couldn't wait for her to get what was coming to her. Did she get it here? You have to watch and see! This is the season where you will sit on the edge of your seat, waiting to see who will win the kingdom. Does your favorite character prevail above the others? MIne d…

#Win Hobbs & Shaw (US/CDN)

Available now!
Rated PG
137 minutes
AMAZON
Dwayne Johnson and Jason Statham return to their unforgettable roles as Hobbs and Shaw in this action-packed feature from the blockbuster Fast & Furious franchise! For years, hulking lawman Luke Hobbs (Johnson) and lawless outcast Deckard Shaw (Statham) have traded smack talk and body blows. But when cyber-genetically enhanced anarchist Brixton (Idris Elba) gains control of an insidious bio-threat that could alter humanity forever, Hobbs and Shaw must partner up to bring down the only guy who might be badder than themselves!

REVIEW: Boyfriend overload!!
The Rock, Jason Stathom and Ryan Reynolds in one film. Oh, my!
It was a great story, had tons of action and kick-ass moments. It was comical at times too. Everything I hoped for in this movie was there.
Just make sure you keep watching after the credits. It doesn't end when you think it does.
Watched with the hubby and he is a big fan. His exact words were, 'it was awesome'.
Defi…