Skip to main content

The Happiness Project by Gretchin Rubin (59)

“This book made me happy in the first five pages.” —AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible
Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is “a cross between the Dalai Lama’s The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.” (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person’s year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.

  • Hardcover: 301 pages
  • Publisher: Harper; 1 edition (December 29, 2009)
  • ISBN: 9780061583254

AMAZON US   |   AMAZON CA   |   AMAZON UK




The author of "Happier at Home" and "The Happiness Project," Both books became New York Times bestsellers. The newest book "Better Than Before", released March 17, 2015.

On her blog, www.gretchenrubin.com, she writes about her daily adventures in happiness.

She currently lives in New York City with her husband and two daughters.






REVIEW:
Well then...
I wanted more from this book. I don't know, maybe I thought it was more self-help than memoir. I still enjoyed it though, just differently than I thought I would.
I read through Gretchin's personal journey to happiness. She researched and put things to use that she learned, all in the name of finding inner happiness. It was captivating to hear her results and findings, and I felt that I learned a lot myself.
The best for me was dealing with her children. Although mine are 19 and 21, I still feel the practices she used, specifically when talking to them, could be useful to me as well. It's like taking positive reinforcement to a whole new level, and I like it.
A great read. If you want a glimpse into happiness though, you have to take note and look inside yourself. That's where happiness lies. You just have to find it, like Gretchin did.

3.5/5


**No compensation was received for posting. Compensation will be earned if purchases are made from the links within. This copy was provided to facilitate a review. Opinions are owned by Freda's Voice.

Comments

  1. I read this and liked it. I agree with you, happiness is inside you!

    ReplyDelete
  2. This book sits on the coffee table at my daughter's therapist office so I have been reading it a little at a time. I read one of her other books and I really liked it. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've heard a lot about this, but haven't read it yet.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Comments are for Google Users Only due to spam comments. Thank you for taking the time to leave your opinions and comments.

Popular posts from this blog

The Invisible Man

AVAILABLE TODAY! RATED R 125 MINUTES AMAZON What you can't see can hurt you. Trapped in a violent, controlling relationship with a wealthy scientist, Cecilia (Elisabeth Moss) escapes in the dead of night and disappears into hiding. But when her abusive ex suddenly dies, Cecilia suspects his death was a hoax. As a series of eerie coincidences turns lethal, threatening the lives of those she loves, Cecilia's sanity begins to unravel while she desperately tries to prove she is being hunted by someone nobody can see.  REVIEW: I sorta hated the beginning. Starts outs so dark that you can't really make anything out. Hard to know what's going on if you can't see. It doesn't take long to get light though. Thankfully. Man, does the story ever pick up after that. I don't remember much about the original but this one is intense. Right to the very last second too. Sydney is badass and shows it throughout. Can you imagine what it would

Scooby Doo: The Sword And The Scoob

AVAILABLE ON DIGITAL NOW AND DVD MARCH 23! RATED F 72 minutes AMAZON An evil sorceress transports the gang back to the age chivalrous knights, spell-casting wizards, and fire-breathing dragons. While there, Shaggy unwittingly pulls out Excalibur from a nearby stone to cut a block of cheese and now no one is sure who the rightful ruler is. The legendary wizard, Merlin, appears and explains that the throne of Camelot must be determined through TRIAL BY COMBAT. Our heroes pull out all the stops to try and win the tournament, break the witch's hold on King Arthur, and find a way back to the present in this legendary story of Scooby Doo in King Arthur's Court. REVIEW: It was weird starting off with a He-Man lookalike, Thunder the Barabarian), until I realized a character from the film was watching the cartoon in the airplane. Still, it was kind of cool to reminice about two cartoons from my childhood. So many great actors bring the film to life! What a fun story it was too! Although

#Win The Trolls World Tour (US/CDN)

Queen Poppy (Anna Kendrick), Branch (Justin Timberlake), and the rest of your favorite Trolls are back for another musical adventure that's bigger—and louder—than ever before! In Trolls World Tour, Poppy and Branch discover that their kingdom is only one of six musical realms—Funk, Country, Techno, Classical, Pop, and Rock—that were once united in perfect harmony. When the power-hungry ruler of the Rock Trolls threatens to silence all other music so her tribe can reign supreme, Poppy and Branch must embark on an epic quest to unite the realms of Trollkind, before the songs in their hearts are lost forever! AVAILABLE TODAY!! RATED PG 91 minutes AMAZON WANNA WIN A COPY FOR YOUR FAMILY? ENTER BELOW GOOD LUCK 1 WINNER US & CANADA a Rafflecopter giveaway **Freda's Voice is not responsible for the prize shipment, lost, damaged or stolen prizes.