Skip to main content

Posts

The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket (21)

Kindle: 3217 KBPrint: 176 pagesPublisher: HarperCollins; Reprint edition (March 17 2009)ASIN: B000VYX8PE
AMAZON

NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES Are you made fainthearted by death? Does fire unnerve you? Is a villain something that might crop up in future nightmares of yours? Are you thrilled by nefarious plots? Is cold porridge upsetting to you? Vicious threats? Hooks? Uncomfortable clothing? It is likely that your answers will reveal A Series of Unfortunate Events to be ill-suited for your personal use. A librarian, bookseller, or acquaintance should be able to suggest books more appropriate for your fragile temperament. But to the rarest of readers we say, "Proceed, but cautiously."

AUTHOR BIO
Lemony Snicket claims he was nowhere near the scene of the crime. He is the author of several other unpleasant stories, including those in the bestselling A Series of Unfortunate Events and The Lump of Coal.


REVIEW: What a great read!
I can totally see why this series is so huge and was made in…
Recent posts

#Win Realm by Alexandrea Weis (US)

ALEXANDREA WEIS is a multi-award-winning author of over 27 novels, a screenwriter, advanced practice registered nurse and historian who was born and raised in the French Quarter of New Orleans. She has worked in nursing for 30 years and has dealt with victims of sexual assault, abuse and mental illness at many New Orleans area hospitals. Brought up in the motion picture industry as the daughter of a director, she learned to tell stories from a different perspective and began writing at the age of eight. Infusing the rich tapestry of her hometown into her novels, she believes that creating vivid characters makes a story moving and memorable. A permitted/certified wildlife re-habber with Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries, Weis rescues orphaned and injured animals. Weis writes paranormal, suspense, thrillers, crime fiction and romance.
Vesuvian Books; May 14, 2019 $19.95; 396 pages ISBN: 978-1944109486
Roxana, the half-Persian daughter of the chief of Bactria, is ripped away from the only lif…

The #Friday56 #Instagram56

Welcome to week 426!


RULES:

*Grab a book, any book.

*Turn to Page 56 or 56% on your ereader.
If you have to improvise, that is okay.

*Find a snippet, short and sweet.

*Post it, and add the url to your post in the Linky below.

Also join in the fun on Instagram using the hashtags #Instagram56 #Friday56

Happy weekend to you all!

Happy Victoria Day to those who celebrate.

Check out this read on Amazon.



Here is my snippet from 56% on my Kindle...






Rooms by Lauren Oliver (20)

Kindle: 1085 KBPrint: 325 pagesPublisher: Ecco; Reprint edition (Sept. 23 2014)ASIN: B00HLISR3G
AMAZON

The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane—a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery, in which the lives of the living and the dead intersect in shocking, surprising, and moving ways.


Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance.


But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory, and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscen…

Can You Ever Forgive Me

AVAILABLE NOW!

RATED R

120 minutes
AMAZON
Lee Israel (Melissa McCarthy) made her living in the 1970's and 80's profiling the likes of Katharine Hepburn, Tallulah Bankhead, Estee Lauder and journalist Dorothy Kilgallen. When Lee is no longer able to get published because she has fallen out of step with current tastes, she turns her art form to deception, abetted by her loyal friend Jack (Richard E. Grant). An adaptation of the memoir "Can You Ever Forgive Me?" relays the true story of the best-selling celebrity biographer (and friend to cats). 



REVIEW: I love stories that are based on real events. That's why I chose to watch this film.
I also like Melissa McCarthy, though I wondered how she would do in such a serious role. She played this woman well, and did her justice.
What a story though.
She lied and cheated her way through things to get ahead. Using her talents for things that she shouldn't have. The irony is not lost at the end though.
Bring tissues for one par…